Pumpkin Scones with Cinnamon-Cognac Glaze

If you’re wondering what to do with some leftover pumpkin puree, I demand you make these scones at once. I went to a pot luck the other night and these pumpkin mini scones were a huge hit! It had a “fall harvest” theme and what could be more fall than pumpkin, cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger and cloves? The scones were light and moist and everybody loved the addition of alcohol to the icing. I made a double batch of mini scones so I would have enough for everybody, but I’m including the single recipe here. Double it if you’re going to a party! You probably won’t have to bring any back home.  I highly recommend these scones – the pumpkin flavor is pretty mild, but the spices make it sing!

Adapted from Recipezaar

Mini Pumpkin Scones with Cinnamon-Cognac Glaze

makes 16 mini scones

For the scones:

2 cups all-purpose flour (I used half all-purpose and half whole wheat)
7 tablespoons granulated sugar
1 tablespoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1/2 teaspoon ground cloves
1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
6 tablespoons cold butter, cut into 1/2″ cubes
1/2 cup canned pumpkin puree (not the pumpkin pie in a can)
2 tablespoons heavy cream
1 large egg

  1. Preheat oven to 425° F. Line baking sheet with parchment paper or silicone baking mat.
  2. Sift flour, sugar, baking powder, salt, and spices into a medium bowl. Using a pastry cutter, two knives, or a food processor, cut butter into the dry ingredients until mixture is crumbly and there are small chunks of butter visible in the mix. Set aside.
  3. In a separate bowl, whisk together pumpkin, cream, and egg. Fold wet ingredients into dry ingredients. Form the dough into a ball. It will be very sticky.
  4. Pat out dough onto a lightly floured surface and form it into a 3/4″ thick rectangle (about 9 inches long and 3 inches wide). Use a large knife or a pizza cutter, slice once through the length, and three times through the width. Cut each of these pieces at the diagonal  to form small triangles (see below for a picture of the cuts). Place on prepared baking sheet.
  5. Bake for 10–13 minutes. Scones should begin to turn light brown. Place on wire rack to cool.

For the cinnamon-cognac glaze/icing:

3/4 cup powdered sugar
2 tablespoons cognac (you can substitute brandy, whiskey, bourbon, dark rum, almond liqueur, orange liqueur, OR, for the non-alcoholic version, just use some milk)
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon (you can up this to 1/2 teaspoon for really cinnamony flavor) [note: cinnamony is not a real word!]

  1. Once scones have cooled, combine ingredients for the glaze in a small dish. The glaze should drip off your whisk/spoon/knife/spatula slowly. If it doesn’t drip and just sticks, add some water to thin it out, 1 teaspoon at a time. If it’s really watery, add more powdered sugar to thicken it, 1 teaspoon at a time.
  2. Taste and add more cinnamon if you want.
  3. Spread glaze over the top of the cooled scones and let it set about 20 minutes. Glaze should harden and no longer be sticky.

Heres how I cut the dough to make the mini scones. I rolled out the dough into a rectangle, then cut it down the middle forming two long pieces. I made three cuts across each of the long pieces, then I cut the resulting squares along the diagonal. And voila! Little triangle scones!

Here’s how I cut the dough to make the mini scones. I rolled out the dough into a rectangle, then cut it down the middle forming two long pieces. I made three cuts across each of the long pieces, then I cut the resulting squares along the diagonal. And voila! Little triangle scones! Hint: try to imagine the above triangles as all part of one big rectangle.

The really sticky pumpkin scone dough.

The really sticky pumpkin scone dough.

Youll know your pumpkin scones are ready when they just start to brown at the edges. Take them out and cool on a wire rack.

You’ll know your pumpkin scones are ready when they just start to brown at the edges. Take them out and cool on a wire rack.

I used a butter knife to mix the cinnamon-cognac glaze. It worked really well and I then used it to spread the glaze on the mini scones!

I used a butter knife to mix the cinnamon-cognac glaze and to spread the glaze on the mini scones.

Oh yum! My mouth is watering just thinking about these scones.

Oh yum! My mouth is watering just thinking about these scones.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Sonya

     /  March 3, 2010

    I made these today for a mid morning snack for the kids and they were wonderful. I was out of eggs, so I added a little extra cream and they still turned out great. Thanks for a great quick recipe.

    Reply
    • I’m so glad to hear that, Sonya! I didn’t even realize that you could leave eggs out of this!

  2. These look delicious! I will have to give these a try because I have a can of pumpkin in the cabinet. I also love pumpkin. Thanks for stopping by my blog.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

