Lemon Oregano Chicken

Lemon Oregano Chicken with pasta and broccoli

I was looking for a simple and quick dinner for a week night. I had some chicken thighs in the fridge and I was craving lemon. Luckily, I found a recipe that called for ingredients I had in my pantry. The chicken came out moist, flavorful, lemony, and delicious. Searing it in a pan before baking it in the oven really locked in the juices and made the skin nice and crisp.  I used bone-in, skin-on thighs, but you can certainly use boneless, skinless. (I just don’t think the chicken will be as moist). For a side dish, I just boiled some egg noodles and broccoli and then drizzled the remaining lemon sauce over the top.

I found that the original recipe called for too much fat, so I reduced it in the one given below. I also increased the amounts of garlic, lemon juice, and chicken broth so I had enough sauce for the noodles. Next time, I’ll use about a teaspoon of lemon zest in the marinade to increase the lemony flavor.

Check out my tips for getting moist and tender chicken every time. (opens in a new window)

Adapted from Gourmet

Lemon Oregano Chicken

serves 4

3 garlic cloves, minced
3 tablespoons vegetable oil, divided
3 tablespoons fresh lemon juice, divided (bottled lemon juice will also work)
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon pepper
4 chicken thighs, bone-in, skin-on (you can also use boneless, skinless or substitute with breasts but in that case, increase the oil to make up for lack of fat)
1/2 cup reduced-sodium chicken or vegetable broth
1 teaspoon dried oregano

  1. In a medium-sized bowl, combine garlic, 1 tablespoon oil, 2 tablespoons lemon juice, salt, and pepper. Pat chicken dry and add to bowl. Marinate for 15-30 minutes at room temperature.
  2. Preheat oven to 450°F with rack in middle.
  3. Heat remaining 1 tablespoon oil in a heavy pan on medium heat and brown chicken about 5 minutes on each side. Chicken will still be raw in the middle. Transfer to an oven-proof dish.
  4. Pour remaining fat off the pan (optional), then add broth and remaining 1 tablespoon of lemon juice. Allow to simmer and reduce, about 2 minutes. Add oregano and pour sauce over chicken.
  5. Bake chicken until cooked through, about 20 minutes. Salt and pepper to taste and serve.
  6. For a quick side dish, boil some egg noodles according to package directions. Coordinate timing so they finish cooking the same time as the chicken. Cut some broccoli into florets and throw it in the pot with the noodles in the last 3 minutes of cooking. Drain and put on serving dish. Pour extra sauce from chicken over the noodles and broccoli.
Lemon Oregano chicken thighs after pan frying

After you brown the chicken in a pan, bake it with the pan sauces until cooked through. This is what it looked like before it went in the oven.

quick side of pasta and broccoli

For a quick and easy side dish, I boiled pasta and broccoli florets together in a pot. I just added the broccoli 3 minutes before the pasta finished cooking and it was perfectly cooked through yet still crisp and crunchy.

chicken thighs and pasta with lemon sauce

This is one fast and convenient weeknight meal! I recommend it to anybody who wants to get a healthy dish on the table fast and not go shopping for specialty ingredients.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. What a tasty and easy-looking recipe! I will have to try this one night when I come home from work…. I’d probably put the chicken in the marinade the night before but ease up on the lemon there since it’ll be soaking for awhile.

    I also love the trick of throwing in some broccoli with the noodles; I used to do that in college so that I would save on dishes to wash later.

    Reply
  2. chrissy

     /  February 6, 2010

    love it! looks yummy

    Reply

Leave a Reply

