Rosemary Butter Steak with Mustard Cream Sauce

rosemary butter steak with mustard cream sauce and rosemary roasted potatoes

I’m not big on red meat. But the guy I’m dating loves it. So I took my first stab at cooking steak (ever!) and I did pretty well if I do say so myself. I searched for a simple but well-reviewed recipe that didn’t require me to purchase a bunch of ingredients I don’t commonly use. And epicurious came through for me, as usual. The one thing I’m upset about is that I didn’t constantly check on the meat, so it cooked all the way through even though I was looking to get it medium rare.

This recipe got a thumbs up from my man, even though the cooking temp wasn’t to his liking. He really enjoyed the rosemary butter that was smeared on top and he said the mustard cream sauce was a great complement. I served it with rosemary roasted potatoes as a simple and filling side.

From Bon Appétit

Rosemary Butter Steak with Mustard Cream Sauce

serves 2

1/2 cup sour cream
2 tablespoons Dijon mustard
1 teaspoon fresh lemon juice
Coarse kosher salt
2 garlic cloves, pressed or grated
1 teaspoon finely chopped fresh rosemary
3/4 teaspoon coarse kosher salt
1/2 teaspoon freshly cracked black pepper
1 tablespoon unsalted butter, room temperature + more for greasing pan
1 one-pound boneless beef loin New York strip roast

  1. To make the sauce, stir together sour cream, mustard, and lemon juice. Season to taste with salt. Cover and refrigerate.
  2. Trim most of the strip of fat from the top of the steak. Make small vertical cuts an inch apart in the remaining fat. If you don’t, the fat may contract while cooking and twist the shape of the steak. (Or at least this is what I read and I didn’t want to take the risk).
  3. Using a fork, mash the garlic, rosemary, salt, and pepper into the butter in a small bowl. Spread the butter over the top of the steak and let it sit in a buttered roasting pan at room temperature for an hour. The steak should just fit in the pan — I used an 8″ cast iron skillet because all my pans were either too large or too small.
  4. Position rack in top third of oven and preheat to 450°F.
  5. Cook beef 10 minutes. [Note: original recipe said 20 minutes, but mine overcooked, so I suggest 10.]
  6. Reduce oven temperature to 350° F. Continue roasting until instant-read thermometer inserted into thickest part of meat reads 130°F for medium-rare. Start checking after 10 minutes.  [Original recipe says 30 to 35 minutes but again, mine overcooked so I suggest checking much earlier.]
  7. Transfer steak to serving dish, tent with foil, and let rest 10 minutes. Serve with mustard sauce on the side.

one pound new york strip steak

The steak was surpisingly easy to work with — I just trimmed the fat off the top and then cut a couple of strips every inch along the fat line so it wouldn’t shrink or warp the meat as it cooked.

mustard cream sauce for steak

This mustard cream sauce is simple and quick. Also, a nice change from the traditional dark steak sauce. A-1, I’m looking at you!

new york strip steak with rosemary butter

The rosemary butter almost acts like a marinade. You let it sit on top of the steak so it can absorb the flavor and fat. Notice I cooked it in a cast iron pan because I couldn’t find a baking dish to fit my steak. Just use what you have.

new york strip with rosemary butter and mustard steak sauce

If I can do it, you can do it. It was my first time cooking steak, and I got a positive review. That means that either a) This recipe is practically foolproof; or b) Anything tastes good if you drown it in butter or mustard. Either way, make this today! Or use the rosemary butter and mustard sauce combo on a chicken breast or a piece of mild white fish! Or tofu! I think I’m getting carried away here….

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

