Chicken Fried Steak from a Yankee

I’ll admit it — I know nothing about Southern cooking except for what I’ve seen on the Food Network. But I’ve been experimenting with some Southern recipes and liking the results. I am far from an authority on Chicken Fried Steak (I am a Jersey girl after all), but I had some cube steak laying around and figured, why not? For those of you who don’t know, cube steak is the meat of choice for chicken fried steak. It is a cut of beef that has been tenderized, usually by a machine if mass-produced, but sometimes by a meat hammer. It’s a nice, cheap cut of steak that cooks up rather quickly and comes from the top round or top sirloin. The cubing (a.k.a. tenderizing) machine may even fuse two pieces of meat together to form one cutlet.

I was pretty happy with the dish, but it was too rich for me. I am more into light food, like roasted fish or sauteed veggies. Between the red meat, the frying, and the double-coating, this amounted to a hearty meal. It was tasty, and I highly recommend it, but I am such a light eater that I probably won’t be making it again unless I haven’t eaten all day.

This version is a fusion of a Bobby Flay recipe & an Alton Brown recipe. Those two guys know what they’re doing so I don’t mess around too much with what they’ve come up with. It’s also quite straightforward: dredge the steaks in seasoned flour, egg, then flour again. Fry. Make sauce. Serve. Enjoy!

Oh, and you should probably serve these steaks with mashed potatoes and collard greens!

adapted from Alton Brown and Bobby Flay

Chicken Fried Steak

serves 4

6 cube steaks, about 1-1/2 lbs
1-1/2 teaspoons kosher salt
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
3/4 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 tablespoon garlic powder
1/2 tablespoon paprika
1/2 tablespoon onion powder
1/2 teaspoon cayenne
2 eggs, lightly beaten
3 tablespoons vegetable oil
1-1/2 cups chicken broth
3 oz. whole milk
1/2 teaspoon thyme leaves, pulled off the stem

  1. Season steaks with salt and pepper. In a wide, shallow dish (like a pie plate or a dinner plate), whisk together flour, garlic powder, paprika, onion powder, and cayenne.
  2. Dredge steaks in flour, egg, then flour again. Set aside for 15 minutes so the crust won’t fall off during frying.
  3. Set a pan over medium-high heat and add enough oil to cover bottom. Brown the pieces of steak, about 3-4 minutes each side, until cooked through.
  4. Once all steaks are finished, turn heat to medium and add 1 tablespoon oil to the pan. Add 3 tablespoons of the leftover flour mix and whisk constantly until caramel in color. Add the chicken broth and scrape up the browned bits from the pan.
  5. Whisk until the gravy boils and thickens. Add milk and thyme and continue whisking until combined and quite thick, about 10 minutes. Season to taste with salt and pepper and serve over steaks.
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. It looks really yummy. I’ve tried chicken fried steaks manytimes in my kitchen. My family’s in love with this crisy delicious steak. I can’t wait to try this version.

    Reply
    • This was my first time trying it! I have no idea what it’s supposed to taste like, so all I know is that this tasted yummy. I hope you enjoy it and it’s up to your standards!

  2. I like Bobby Flay and your Chicken Fried Steak 🙂

    Reply
  3. This was my first time trying it! I have no idea what it’s supposed to taste like, so all I know is that this tasted yummy. I hope you enjoy it and it’s up to your standards!
    +1

    Reply

Leave a Reply

